ADC Logo

Chester County Ag Council

Farm Guide Webinars About Us Home

Chester County Ag Award Winners

Sonya Beltran

Sonya Beltran, along with her family, received the 2020 Farmers of the Year award.

The Board of Chester County Commissioners and the Chester County Agricultural Development Council (Ag Council) present two annual awards, Farmer of the Year and Distinguished Agricultural Service. The Farmer of the Year award recognizes a farmer, farm family, partnership, etc., who maintains and exemplifies outstanding farming practices.

The Duncan Allison Award for Distinguished Agricultural Service, named after a former long-serving and incredibly dedicated board member, honors an individual(s) who has positively promoted, made significant contributions to, or provided exceptional services for the Chester County agricultural community.

This year, the Ag Council and Chester County Board of Commissioners presented the Farmers of the Year award to Sonya Beltran and family, owner-operators of First Generation Farms and Masda Mushrooms in Avondale, Pa. The Duncan Allison Distinguished Service to Agriculture Award was given to the greater Chester County agriculture industry in recognition for their many acts of service and food donations to those in need during the pandemic.

Year Farmer of the Year Distinguished Service to Agriculture
2020 Sonya Beltran & Family Chester County Agriculture Community for Pandemic Food Assistance
2019 The Gable Family Duncan Allison
2018 Duane and Marilyn Hershey Charles Graydus 
2017 Don Cairns Deborah Ellis 
2016 Elias and Rebecca King Sara Manning
2015 The Team at Seven Stars Farm
Lewis Wilkinson
Howard and Janet Robinson
2014 Robert Lange Robert Ray
2013 Drs. Thomas and Barbara Schaer
Peter Flynn
Daniel Miller
2012 Dave and Roberta Rotelle Larry Welsch
Terry Brett
2011 Ike and Lisa Kerschner
David Hodge
Joseph Fecondo
2010 Steve Castorani
Jane Pepple
2009 Norman Laffey Family and
Anthony and Karen Vietri
Nancy L. Mohr
Joseph and Ben Cordivano Donald (Buster) Needham
2007 Stan and Cathy Guest Charles Harris
2006 Karen Vollmecke
John Arrell
2005 I. Glen Engle Family
Dennis Byrne
2004 Phillips Mushroom Farm
Betsy Huber
2003 Angelo J. Zunino and Son Inc. Charles L. Roten
2002 Knight Run Farm George and Sue Lamborn
2001 Walmoore Holsteins, Inc. Arthur Hershey
2000 Gottlieb Strohmaier Family Gary W. Smith
1999 David Lantz Family Cheryl Fairbairn
1998 The Raymond Harnish Family Furman Gyger, Jr.
1997 Tim Barlow and Ben Beiler

1996 Matthews Family Robert Lange
1995 Rosazza Family Hoopes family
1994 Omar and Nelson Beam families G. Pownall Jones
1993 Yeatman Bros. Charlie Brosius
1992 Horace/Hazel Walton Charlie Gable
1991 Ken/Marilyn Umble Hoopes Yarnall Family
1990 Bill Beam Harold Kulp
1989 Mason Brothers Charlie Wollaston